Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello..newbie here.
I've been shopping for a daily driver/commuter car for a while now and went to check out the xB at the dealer over the weekend. I'm looking for fuel economy, space for utility purpose etc.
I have pretty much made up my mind on the xB but was wondering what the theft rate is on these things? Grant it.. a lot of people think these things are ugly but I'm one of the few that has loved the design since day1 of seeing it.
Would the "ugly" factor play into the role of a lower theft rate? (keeping in mind that no mods will be done to the xB since I have another car that I already mod)

TIA!!

·
Banned
528 Posts
Should have no theft problems. The xb's draw alot of attention but I have not seen too many theft issues with these cars.

·
Registered
485 Posts
actually, scion has a pretty high theft rate from what they say here at the dealer and at central atlantic toyota.

Since 100% of the scions come from overseas, they have a comparably high theft rate to other cars. From my experience, they rarely steal the car ( i havent heard of it happening), they just take parts off of em. The foglights seem to be the most popular item. At my dealership alone we have had our tC's and xB's broken into several times...and each time they took the foglights.
CAT seems to say the same thing.

With that said, i really wouldnt worry too much. just get an alarm system and you should be fine. I personally have never had any problems anywhere. One of the malls we have here is the #1 mall in america for vehicle vandalism, and im there several times on a weekly basis. it should be fine ***knocks on wood***

·
Banned
528 Posts