Scion xB Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may have been covered before and it may be a stupid question, but I'm a new xB owner, so I thought I would ask here... What gas should I get at the pump? Should I get the lowest octane stuff (the 87), super unleaded (89) or the premium (91, I believe)... I'm a musician, not a car guy, sorry. Thanks for your advice!:)

·
TheOtherGuys
7,988 Posts
Our xB's are tuned for the cheap stuff, thats why they are so good on gas. :)

·
I am Sofa King We Todd Ed
3,453 Posts
From what I know, and read, because someone somewhere, I believe on here, posted a HUGE thing about gas and the octane ratings. Using anything higher than 87 won't benefit you at all unless you're using a turbo.

·
3,453 Posts
Well, I'm glad the 89 is cheaper for you. Here in the STL it's typically 10 cents more expensive - we're midwest too.

·
3,453 Posts
I'm serious, while I'm out tomorrow I can take some pics if I take my cam with me.

·
Registered
368 Posts
No, this isn't a stupid question.
You will get as many right answers, and as many arguments from all that answer it.

Best is to explain, our cars need a minimum of 87 octane, thats what they tell us. Many of us have been using 89 or higher. Reason you ask, I have found that by using 89 or higher I get a little more umph out of my box when pulling a load. Now here is why, our ECUs, while using the minimum, set our timing at a minimum ( retarded ) using the anti-knock sensor, when using the higher octane our timing is allowed to be advanced a bit more because it doesn't set off the anti-knock sensor. Does anyone understand ? I am trying to explain it best for everyone.