Scion xB Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
One Armed Bandit
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Folks. I took delivery of my Salsa Red Pearl xB about three weeks ago. My initial reason for looking at the xB was to get a car to which I wouldn't become emotionally attached. I blew it on THAT score! The little bugger has won my heart! :)

My previous ride is a '97 Geo Prizm, bought new and have driven (so far) for nearly 1/3 of a million virtually trouble-free miles. Yup, got emotionally attached to that one and can't part with it (even for the "generous" $100.00 the dealer offered. sigh) I'm keeping it as a practice car for my two teens.

Besides the aforementioned (and since abandoned) reason for the 'box' I needed a car to fit the following criteria:
1) gas sipper - I have a 225 mile round trip drive to work 3 days a week.
2) roomy - I'm a drummer and sometimes (thankfully not often) need to haul my gear.
3) inexpensive - did I mention I have two teens? (grin) I also have an 11 year old, 15 mo-old twins, a wife and an ex-wife (a.k.a.; "The Plaintiff"). What I DON'T have is cash!
4) after 9 years in a "Jon Q. Public", "blend in with the crowd" ride I kinda wanted to be different.

This buggy hits ALL those marks - and nicely, as well!

My wife claims to not like the car (truck? suv? wagon? shoe?), but I think she secretly caries a torch for it - since she keeps coming up with reasons to borrow it. :rolleyes:

But I think my favorite feature has to be the color. I've seen a boat-load of silver, black cherry, white, black, and blue xB's around here - and even a "Limited Edition" from each year ... but so far the only Salsa Red one I've seen has been mine. (Having said that, of course, they'll now start falling from the trees.)

All in all I'm thrilled with the box and have only encountered one real problem: What to get on the license plates. Bugger! This could take a while! ;)

·
Registered
1,893 Posts