Scion xB Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
That would be such a tight fit under the hood of an xb, my dad has one and it barely fits under the hood of a prius. Plus you'd have to add the battery packs, cvt, regenerative brakes, and all that other associated stuff.

·
Registered
247 Posts
This would be extremely complex and extremely expensive even if the space in the xb could work. I asked a mechanic about this a while back and did not realize how everything in a prius like car is completely differant. i am not a mechanic so i can't explain it near as well but it is not just the engine, the computer would have to change, how the brakes work are differant and would have to be reset to the prius style car, the transmission is completely differant and would have to change, then there are all those really expensive batteries that work in conjuntion with the engine. When all was said and done I came to the conclusion that it would be much to complex and expensive. Hopefully car companies will start designing cool eco friendly cars as opposed to all the hidious ones that most people just don't want to own. Also, hopefully the damn prices start coming down. I was looking at prius just out of curiosity because the mileage is so good and to me, the size of car and what it comes with is equivalant to a carolla or civic, but the sticker prices were 32 grand...I don't think so.

·
Registered Abuser
1,570 Posts
wee bit is right, but heck, for $55000 not including tax or the xB to begin with... im gonna have to pollute the world with my .01 hydrocarbons at a time.

·
Registered
1,479 Posts