Scion xB Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Regular abUser
2,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone painted the black inside part of the TYC tail lights? Is it possible?

I photoshopped this, but you get the point.

·
Regular abUser
2,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Sorry for the small photo above, couldn't edit? So repost as attachment.

Attachments

·
TheOtherGuys
7,988 Posts
I don't know if I like it, atleast not with them lights.

·
I am Sofa King We Todd Ed
3,453 Posts
I think the Mazoria (Maziora).....Torched Penny looks good like that because it's such a dark color.

I'd have to see a better photoshop of the TCM before I'd say go for it, but it's definitely an excellent idea none the less!

·
Regular abUser
2,945 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yeah I'm not too good at photoshop yet, sorry. Just seeing how possible it is. I've never takin apart tails or painted them before, so what do you think the difficulty rating on this is?

Hey Bowlofrice, I got the sticker off of ebay.

·
3,453 Posts
I would imagine that it'd be a few days project. Make sure you have a backup set of taillights so you don't have to rush the project.

Someone else on here, TG I believe, opened up headlamps and then cleaned the 'glue' that holds them together and used silicone.....I'm too lazy to search for the thread.

Anyways, as for the difficulty, you'd have to cook them, which, if left in too long, or too hot, can warp the tails. Then, pulling them apart, having enough colormatched paint to cota it well, clearcoat, and then putting them back together.

I'd say, probably intermediate level.

·
RS4 #303
4,900 Posts
you dont have to bake the tails they arent glued they have a o-ring gasket at least the stock ones the tycs might be the same ;)
Dude thanks for the tip! Butter knives are awsome. Look mom, it's the new No Bake taillights!!!!