Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.
I am a Newbie and have just purchased an RS 3.0. My wife and I have been searching for new vehicles for a long time and there was much debating on what we were going to purchase.

Last month I put 1k down on a 06 civic Si because I am in need of a new car. I currently am driving a ford contour, which has seen better days. The Si has a build date of 03/18/06-03/22/06. It should arrive in mid April.
My wife currently owns a 2004 Honda accord lx v6 sedan, which we are tired of. We are using this vehicle as trade for my soon to be Si. Contract already written through dealership with minimal trade-in value promised.

That leaves me with a new car and her with, uh.... my ford contour, which I consider my work car.

We have looked at the new GTI DSG 2.0 T, a new Passat 3.6 (fast as hell I might add but more than we wanted to spend) and an Audi A3. We also considered waiting for the soon to debut Camry and many others that aren’t worth mentioning.

You notice I didn’t mention the Scion XB. 2 weeks ago at the St.louis auto-show she sat in one and immediately decided against it. She is a "high class" Japanese woman who seems to be attracted to high-end automobiles only. Unfortunately, I knew that I was in trouble. I had already made a deal on trading the Accord V6 for a new Si.

One day she came to her senses and decided that she will consider a XB. We visited scion.com and read up on the car and it seemed to offer many features for such a fair price. Plus it has plenty of room and gets great gas mileage. I also checked kbb-nada-edmunds and was absolutely shocked on how well the xb's hold their resale value.

We went to our local Scion dealer later that evening and test-drove an xb auto; she refuses to drive a manual tranny. I was expecting a pathetic dog, but overall, I would honestly have to say that it performed much better than my 97 ford contour zetec.