Scion xB Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,884 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Need some input (what parts would you like to see me design)

As some of you may have read in other posts I work in the automotive industry in computer aided engineering. I have access to just about any engineering software possible (work at one of the big three right now). A coworker and I are talking about starting a business offering two completely different services.

The first on is we are going to start working on designing parts to do one of two things with. First thing would ideally be to design parts and manufacture them to sell to other retail companies or the public direct. The other thing would be design parts and sell the design to other companies to produce and sell.

I know their is extra love for JDM parts or parts from Japan on here. Would people be interested in parts that are designed using our engineering background to make sure that their is actual performance improvement.

An example is this. I am thinking of designing a complete 4 wheel disc brake system, and a hybrid suspension that could possibly include coil overs and a way to adjust ride height in car for speedbumps. I am also looking into chassis bracing. If I did design this it would probably be made in China.

That is where the question lies, would you be willing to buy something made in China for your xb or bb? (We already have manufacturing connections. If any other companies are interested in production in China contact me and I will see if we can be of assistance)

If so what other types of parts would you be interested in?

The other part of our company would be parts locating (like others do on here). I am in the process of looking for some JDM bb parts for my car and wondering what other people are looking for. I will try to help you locate them.

Just needed to get my ideas out there for feedback. Thank you for your time.

·
TheOtherGuys