Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still in the market for an xB.
I have seen just a couple of posts about xB and Mobile 1.

Should I use it (Mobile 1 5W-30) starting with my first oil change?
Is there I good chance I will see a little better gas mileage?
Any warranty problems if I go this direction?
How much more $$$ is it to use Mobile 1?

Thanks!

·
Registered
194 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, so really can't help you with that decission, but I prefer Valvoline, just a personal preference really. I wouldn't think using Mobil 1 would void your warranty, but Your best bet would be to ask your mechanic.

Hope that helps, if only a little.

·
Registered
283 Posts
txcruiser said:
I'm still in the market for an xB.
I have seen just a couple of posts about xB and Mobile 1.

Should I use it (Mobile 1 5W-30) starting with my first oil change?
Is there I good chance I will see a little better gas mileage?
Any warranty problems if I go this direction?
How much more $$$ is it to use Mobile 1?

Thanks!
Well, the first 3 oil changes are free. These newer motors have been designed to run 5,000 mile intervals on regualr oil. I'd just stick to the first 3 free oil changes & then switch to synthetic at 20,000 miles, unless you want to be really picky & start synthetic at 5,000 miles.

Gas mileage does seem to improve. There was a member that was getting about 5 MPG more after the switch to Mobil 1

If you do the oil changes at every 5,000 miles, you shouldn't have any warranty issues as long as you keep the receipts.