Scion xB Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm totally new to all of this so bear with me. I seriously need help because I am totally confused. I bought an xb from an individual and the only thing I didn't look at beforehand was the carfax. It looked good, drove perfect. The guy was upfront with me about the title being rebuilt, but it seemed like a sweet deal anyway so I bought it. He had pictures of the damage, pictures of it being fixed ( it took a direct hit to the back bumper ). To look at it nothing is wrong and to drive nothing is wrong as far as i know besides a faulty 02 sensor. The check engine light, vsc? light is on, and trac off. Those aren't my main issues at the moment. Take in mind this xb is painted the blue onyx. Well, I got home with it and pulled a carfax and it turns out the guy was honest about every single thing that he told me except one thing. Carfax verifies everything on this xb top to bottom, but the thing that has me puzzled is - it says it's a Release Series 2.0. Now I checked each and every vin number on this xb and matched the ones on the box with the one on the title, and as I said everything on the Carfax checks out about the xb. What has me confused is why does carfax say it's a RS 2.0 when it is not yellow, has no yellow accented seats, nor a badge on the dash? I'm not sure what else to look for but so far I know that is the most distinctive things that make them stand out visually. Is there anything at all I can do to find out? Anywhere I can look on this box for any clues? My stepdad is a mechanic so I can get him to jack it up if i need to look under it somewhere. I'm wondering if maybe when the box was restored they painted it different and took the RS stuff out and replaced it with stock? That is the only explanation I can think of and I can't for the life of me understand why they would do that because being a RS and keeping the integrity of it still makes the value