Scion xB Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Being naive at both video-taking and car-lowering, I took a short video of how I installed Tanabe DF210 springs on my '05 xB. Please keep in mind that I'm not posting this video to be judged... I just thought it could potentially help other newbie xB owners. Also, I mentioned in the clip that spring compressors are necessary, and that's because I am very safety-conscious (being a doctor, I've seen people losing their eyeballs or fingers for seemingly simple home repair projects).

(1) Click here for the video: YouTube - DF210
(2) Then click the "Watch in High Quality" link at the lower-right corner of the video; otherwise the subtitles in the video will be very hard to read.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Re: Video of "How to Lower xB"

Nice job on the install video. Maybe it's me but I thought the lettering would have been easier to read if it was black. Still a nice job and the box look good.

·
Registered
491 Posts

i would just go with the lowering spring cause cutting springs = bad ride quality also weakens the spring alttle and will blow out you suspension quicker! i know from experience on my last car!

·
I'm Marcel NOT Stenger
10,637 Posts

^^depends on how low u wanna go, id say go wit tanabe df210's. they r tha most common and will give u a 1.7 n tha front and 2.0 n tha rear

·
RS4 #303
4,900 Posts

VERY NICE JOB!!!!!
great video
Only one thing I can say that was not in there
At the top of the front strut the shaft is not round and must align with the slotted key way in the top mount or it will make a terrible clunk noise and ruin the top mount rather quickly.
Would have been nice to add shots of the slot and shaft aligned right during reassembly
extra reputation points coming your way
And mods could we sticky this as diy
:) :) :)

·
TheOtherGuys
7,988 Posts