Scion xB Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So as most of you probably know our stock steering wheels don't easily accommodate aftermarket steering wheel covers. We can however use this to our advantage.....

I have very little seamstress experience aside from sewing a pink pig in high school home ec years ago. With that said almost anyone should be able to accomplish this with a little patience.

Whats needed:

1.) neoprene steering wheel cover:

I purchased mine at walmart for ~$5 but i found a seller on ebay that sells them as well (http://www.ebay.com/itm/280712273792?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649)

2.) A medium to large needle, any will work but I bought Dritz homecraft needles they were only like $1.63 for the whole set also at walmart:

you can see which one I used by the thread left on it. its the largest of the 3 on left side of the package

3.) Outdoor UV resistant thread. I was going to go with fishing line, but it wasn't cost effective for the good stuff and i was afraid of it fading

Optional:

Thimble

Glove( I didn't have a thimble :p) after pushing the needle 20-30 times you'll see what I mean

Procedure:

1.) Remove the Horn relay (fuse box, drivers side under the hood) This isn't required but after accidentally honking it several times i finally just disconnected it.

2.) slip the steering wheel cover on with the biggest connecting stitch center with the bottom center of the wheel ( 6 o'clock)

3.) I started from the bottom left and worked my way clockwise. It just felt right, you can go from whichever direction you feel more comfortable with.

Thread the needle and tie a couple small knots (think first step of tying your shoe X2) to secure it. start from the back of the wheel and and work forward, that way when you tie it off the knot is not seen.