Scion xB Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Scion xB 2005 manual transmission. I've only had this problem for a few months. It was the dashboard lights flashing and check engine light. What does that exactly mean. I've tried all the tricks, check fuses, make sure I had a perfect starter, alternator and all wires on both were fastened correctly. There was only one issue with the ground wire underneath the fender, what else could it be. All fluids are secured and gas cap with door is car show shined. Any thoughts thank you.

·
Registered
2006 Scion xB Automatic
142 Posts
Mine did something like that when the battery was going bad / just before it failed. Are you sure your battery is fine?

Just an idea, I'm not a maintenance expert by any stretch of imagination. Mine's the same gen, a 2006.

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
Quick and easy check for a loose ground. Take a good set of jumper cables and using the ground only, hook one end to the engine block and other end to the chassis. See if the lights quit flickering. If still flickering try connecting to battery negative and engine block. Have you tried checking the voltage at the battery? To make sure the alternator is working properly.

Reactions: jawhn

·
Registered
1 Posts
Mine did something like that when the battery was going bad / just before it failed. Are you sure your battery is fine?

Just an idea, I'm not a maintenance expert by any stretch of imagination. Mine's the same gen, a 2006.
Mine just got a new battery yesterday and it started flashing! Mine is also 2005 with 199k miles. Never has it done it before. So weird

·
Registered
2006 Scion xB Automatic
142 Posts
I love and hate these toasters in equal amounts right about now, haha. Mine doesn't run anymore and I haven't had a chance to dig into it and figure it out. About ready to just buy another one since they're still quite low-priced... :rolleyes:

·
Registered
11 Posts