Scion xB Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hunting down an issue with my car, and my wife suggested I just bring the old box into a mechanic. I'm no mechanic, but I'm a commercial plumber, so I know tools and quality repairs. It feels like I'm replacing almost every accessory or bushing that I can upgrade (within reason).

I save a LOT of $$$ doing my own repairs, as I'm sure you guys do too. Last weekend alone was an alternator, water pump, and serpentine belt, previous week was spark plugs, thermostat, new ground wire. That $200 project alone must've saved me over $1,000. Plus, I'm not waiting around for a mechanic to fix it. It's all on MY time.

Am I just being too frugal?

Sent from my LM-X210(G) using Tapatalk

·
Registered
26,572 Posts
I hear you as I use to repair or replace everything I could to save myself money for the finer things in life (like more mods)!!! LOL There was some things that due to my big hands I could not replace like my water pump !! Now that I am older and survived cancer my hands (fingers) do not work like they use to so I DO have to have the dealer do things now !!!!

I like working on our cars as we know more while fixing them than before so you are not being cheap but I know that I could not fix everything so it is safer to have someone else repair or replace

·
Registered
2,612 Posts
Good comments from both of you. I also like to do a lot of my own work. But like Jeff, my hands don’t work as good as they used to.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
I do everything myself, even oil changes. My first oil change I thought "it's a cheap car so I'll just go get an oil change at a lube place. It started knocking before I got home. Turned around, went to Walmart and got some Mobile 1and a new filter, did it myself and never looked back. 80k miles later still runs like a champ.

Sent from my SM-G930T1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #5