Scion xB Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Scion xB Automatic
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I searched and found this thread: Custome 3D lrinted toaster grill emblem but couldn't find any dedicated threads for 3D printed things for our toasters. Unless I just failed to discover it...

So I've already made a few things that I needed, I began with a cell phone holder that fits into that fold-down flap box below the radio. Then I reverse engineered the hood support rod clip/clamp because mine was broken on my latest 06. I'll post Thingiverse links here in a second... And right now I'm drawing up a simplified version of those little hexagonal mesh grill sections that are always missing on most of the 1stGen xBs I see on the road. Mine is also missing them, so I started drawing one up in SketchUp today and will hopefully be done with it soon...

Here's a link to all of the 3D printable designs I've shared: Thingiverse - Digital Designs for Physical Objects

Hopefully very soon I'll have those grill thingamabobs on there. Here's a sneak preview of how far I've gotten with it today:

·
Registered
2006 Scion xB Automatic
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
OK, so please ignore how shitty the print looks. My 3D printer is acting up and I need to diagnose what's going on...

My design is going to be very simplified from the original, and definitely not an exact match. Mostly for convenience, but also because none of us really have a need to install this piece in less than 15sec on a Toyota assembly line for the cheapest possible cost with the least amount of parts. :)

Haven't checked to see if it will even fit yet, this is an early prototype. My plan is to either throw a black button head allen screw(s) through the whole thing with a nylon locknut and fender washer, or perhaps figure out a way to just use rough thread screws from the backside...? Will have to see how tricky it is to get to the inside of the bumper plastics.