Scion xB Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting as I'm new to the group. I have been reading answers on the forum which have been very helpful. Now I am hoping someone can help my daughter and I with our car problem.

My daughter has a 2006 Scion. When she is driving at 60 mph or above the transmission sounds like it needs to change into a highway cruising gear. I reset the ECU and her car shifts through the gears smoother than before and the pickup has improved. But still when she drives at 60 or above it sounds like it needs to shift into a highway cruising gear. The OD is on. The RPM is below 3. I know some smaller cars sound like they strain more than bigger cars at high speed. But my daughter insists that her car didn't sound like this before. We took it to an auto shop and they said there is nothing wrong with the transmission. So I am at a loss since the car shifts fine on the street. I am hoping someone may have an idea on what may be the problem. Thanks!

·
Old School xB Builder
1,723 Posts
Is at not shifting past 45? I had the same problem with my black xB 2005. I went through and replaced all kinds of stuff I found out that there was a broken wire above the brain unit in the car. Apparently whoever had it before me try to tie an underdash lights by hacking it to the wire harness for the brain. It was a pink wire if memory serves me right.

Sent from my pimped out xB

·
Old School xB Builder
1,723 Posts
The car runs smooth on the street up to 50. It's above that.
It should shift into high gear at 45. The other thing that could be preventing it shifting if the cold engine light on the dash is still on. If that is still on it will prevent the vehicle from shifting into high gear. I could then be a heat sensor issue

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·