Scion xB Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A slight click has developed in my 2004 XB. It sounds similar to a worn driveshaft CV joint. Both driveshafts have been replaced within the last 400 miles. Anyway, inspecting the area where the CV joints attach to the trans output flanges, I notice the output shaft and flanges can be moved orbitally, that is up and down quite a lot though not so much that the oil seals leak. Is this type of motion "normal" for the output shaft, or is this motion likely the source of the click noise? The new CV's feel fine, and I have no experience inside the gearbox/diff to know. Any feedback would be appreciated before I tear into the gearbox. Does anyone know of a cutaway drawing of the gearbox that m ight show what happening in there?
Thanks,

· Registered
152 Posts
"orbitally"? ....never heard it described that way. But to answer your question:

No, that motion is not normal. This situation occurs when the transmission bearings are worn/damaged.

The particular bearings I'm referring to are known as the transmissions "output shaft" bearings.

Sadly, to replace these bearings....the transmission has to be removed from the vehicle and be completely disassembled.

Another sad thing is that most transmission shops won't repair the transmission. They'd rather earn $3,000 selling/installing a rebuilt unit rather than earning much less $$$ performing the repair to an (otherwise good) transmission.

The engine, transmission, frame, steering, suspension & brake components can be removed from these vehicles in an hour (as a single unit). Takes 2 hours to rebuild/test the transmission and another 2 hours to put the car back together. So, 5 hours labor @ $150 per labor hour = $750. .....good for you, not good for the transmission shop.

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
"orbitally"? ....never heard it described that way. But to answer your question: