Replacing Wheel Stud - Info and Pics plus some! - Scion xB Forum
Scion xB Suspension, Chassis & Brakes Questions and answers about Scion xB suspension, chassis, & brake upgrades! You have to admit the box looks mighty fine when dropped. This is where you get the details for Scion xB suspension, chassis, & brake alterations.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-23-2009, 12:39 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
jx1379 will become famous soon enough
(Thread Starter)
Replacing Wheel Stud - Info and Pics plus some!

Pretty simple really. But to start off, i am a complete noob when it comes to rear brakes and it seems pretty much everyone i asked is a noob as well. So with no knowledge and very little help (info over the phone), i quickly learned how easy rear rotors can be to work on....also, DO NOT USE A SLEDGEHAMMER AND FLATHEAD SCREWDRIVER ON ROTOR REMOVAL!

What was a simple summer-to-winter wheel swap quickly turned into rear brakes completely locked and parking brake not working. Ok, so i try to push and it doesn't budge. I get a lower pushing stance (and actually put some shoes on instead of slippers) and the brakes went "KaChing". It rolls now but it feels like they are still grabbing somewhat and my e-brake isnt even engaged. So i jack the car back up, take the wheel off, and bang on the rotor with a hammer hoping to free the seized brakes......a few hits later they are free but no e-brake. Figures it wouldn't be that easy - so i say screw it and call it a night.